Posted by: jhike | November 8, 2009

Banana Bread

My plans for tonight included getting a jump start on the laundry mountain that has been growing this week in my closet; however, Jason is not feeling up to speed, so plans changed a little.  The kids and I spent some time in the backyard~LOVE Central Florida weather right now~then they helped me try out a new banana bread recipe.  It’s one main recipe with a few ‘extra’ ingredients I threw in.  Let’s just say I need someone to hide it from me, so I don’t devour it all tonight!  Just in case you ever have some bananas that are too brown to eat….

Banana Bread
1 cup sugar (½ brown, ½ white)

½ butter (yes I used the REAL stuff)

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

4 bananas mashed

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

*3 tbsp brown sugar

*1 tbsp water

-Cream the sugar and butter with a mixer. Add the vanilla, eggs, and bananas and mix well. Add the dry ingredients and mix until well blended. Pour into a 9×5, greased loaf pan. Bake 50min-1 hour at 350 degrees. About 15 minutes before its done (the loaf will be full size, and almost ‘set), mix the brown sugar and water, and brush onto the top. Return to over and finish cooking.

 

It is delicious!  It is so moist, but the top is a little crunchy and sugary!  You will LOVE it!  I am not a baker, so if I can make this and have it turn out great-you definately can too!   I took a picture to post, but I’m feeling like a good book, and another slice of banana bread are too good to pass up right now!  🙂


Leave a comment

Categories